Post-NATS

16 Feb

NATS is over

Long story Short – I didn’t do my best

I sang Monica’s Waltz for the judges, but I only felt I was giving 90%
-they ended up picking French (Au bord de l’eau) and German (Das Veilchen) to hear me sing as well

Some days are different than others

{I guess}

It was a though category
– senior undergrad women -

My audition was at 2:24, and I had to wait until 4:45 for the results.

Normally, results come straight after the last person sings
{in my situation at 4:00}

-but I ended up waiting almost an hour for the results-
{There was probably a debate over the results }

Even though I didn’t place in the end – I ended up receiving FANTASTIC comments

And every judge gave me a superior

{which I have never received, even when I have placed in past years!}

20130216-191701.jpg

The judges were really positive and encouraging.

I guess those 5-10% really make a difference

But, now this is the past, and I’m focusing on my future events!

-first symphony solo rehearsal is Wednesday
-ClassicalSingers competition is next Saturday!
-junior recital is in A MONTH GAHHH!

But, you might wonder who’s keeping me company these days…

20130216-193927.jpg

Halldís is visiting from NYC

20130216-192511.jpg

Of course I showed her around Columbus ~ on my scooter :]

I’m so happy to have her!

Tomorrow I’m taking her with me to church

…let’s see what she thinks about that :]

4 Responses to “Post-NATS”

  1. Quimper Hitty February 16, 2013 at 22:08 #

    Wow, fantastic!

  2. Harrison Welshimer February 17, 2013 at 10:34 #

    Hi Björg,
    I know what you mean. I did a lot of comps when I was in school. The attitude I always took was “you lose more than you win, but that doesn’t mean you don’t stop trying to win them all.” Good luck on the next one!

    Harrison Welshimer
    Founder of http://www.musicmunch.com

  3. pianolearner February 17, 2013 at 17:20 #

    Great results. Good luck with the next rehearsals :)

  4. Lena February 21, 2013 at 02:37 #

    Ah competitive singing… I don’t miss it :P too stressful for me! Well done though!

    Thanks for dropping by!
    – L

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,901 other followers

