Þorrablót in Atlanta

28 Feb

20120227-125347.jpg

A few months ago I found a non-formal Facebook group with Icelanders in Atlanta.

This weekend the group had organized an event called þorrablót in Stone Mountain with Icelandic food only🙂

January and february are called þorri in Iceland, and it is traditional to have festivals connected to those months with traditional food from Iceland.

I talked my friend Catherine into going with me.

I was greeted by Icelandic people, in Icelandic ( Wonderful! ) and offered shark and Brennivín (Icelandic traditional shot).

20120227-125257.jpg

There was all kinds of delicious food, wind dried fish, smoked lamb, rye bread, ram’s testicles, head cheese, liver sausage, blood pudding, seals flippers and mashed turnips.

Sounds delicious?

20120227-125318.jpg

Catherine, the born and raised American, actually liked most of it, especially the lamb.

20120227-125246.jpg

After enjoying the food, the singing began.

20120227-125339.jpg

The icelandic classics were sung, and since I was known to be a singer, I was sent up on stage.

20120227-125331.jpg

Throughout the evening the glasses were raised and the crowd shouting “skál”

20120227-125307.jpg

Before we knew it, we had to leave back to Columbus.

After this I am sure I will be able to survive few more months without Iceland🙂

Leave a Reply

