Russian Opera

14 Mar

I have always had a dream of being able to sing in Russian

-Perhaps because of the similarities of the sound of Russian and Icelandic

-I have even been mistaken as Russian because of my look and rolled r’s

(Even if the looks won’t help me at all in singing Russian whatsoever)

The first act of Tchaikovsky’s opera Iolanta begins with a wonderful soprano solo

(Begins in 9:20)

 

 

Iolanta is a blind daughter of the King of Provence.

-She does not know she is blind

-In the aria she sings about how depressed she is and that she does not understand why she can’t hear the flowers bloom nor heaven change color.

-Her father has forbidden anyone do discuss vision and sight to her

-The opera has a happy ending with Iolanta finally being able to see and marrying the man that loved her even when she was blind

__

This opera is precious.

Thcaikovsky’s last opera.

Maybe one day I will be able to sing Iolanta‘s role :]

…I also want to experience this opera with Anna Netrebko singing.

-That would be amazing

___

And, look at the dress Tatiana Novikova is wearing.

-It is gorgeous and sophisticated

Reminds me of the dress I wore for the performance of Cinderella

4 Responses to “Russian Opera”

  1. No Talking Required March 15, 2012 at 16:06 #

    I would LOVE to see a Russian Opera!

  2. anti wrinkle March 22, 2012 at 22:02 #

    I admired your wonderful post. super information. I hope you release many. I will continue subscribing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Хованщина « Quimper Hittys - March 17, 2012

    […] is a link to another fan of Russian […]

Leave a Reply

