Composition Project

16 Apr

I just turned in my first composition project ever🙂

20120416-151630.jpg

Impressionist style, full of nice little tritones :]

The soprano hits a a#4 and ends on a long g4 so it’s perfect for my range !

I picked a poem by my favorite Icelandic poet called Þorsteinn Frá Hamri called Mynd (picture)

Has a mysterious but innocent feel.

It was definitely tough to start the project, but I’m proud to be done!

It’s kinda cool to have your own piece :]

15 Responses to “Composition Project”

  1. Quimper Hitty April 16, 2012 at 14:48 #

    Are Þorsteinn Frá Hamri’s poems translated into English? I would be interested to read some of them

  2. Kerniggit April 16, 2012 at 15:08 #

    Wow that’s cool🙂 I always struggled reading music and am even worse at ‘hearing” the note so I’m impressed you composed for a poem. To be honest musical language is alien to me wish I knew more about it but I’m resigned to simply enjoying it.

    • asolosingerinamerica April 18, 2012 at 09:12 #

      Aww! Thanks🙂 yes it is. Difficult at first but my life revolves around music sooo🙂

  3. Deanna April 16, 2012 at 17:19 #

    Congrats!

  4. Choc Chip Uru April 16, 2012 at 18:23 #

    How exciting my friend – it sounds superb with my limited knowledge of music (I used to play the flute and sing :))
    Also I checked out your youtube channel – OMG so exciting – when you become famous and all I can say ‘oh yeah I “talked” to her’😉
    You have a real talent!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Jamie [Don't Forget the Cinnamon] April 17, 2012 at 06:40 #

    Very cool! Will it be performed?
    I played piano until coming to college and my favorite part was composing. There’s something so satisfying about putting together your own piece of music!

  6. alleybeth April 17, 2012 at 11:00 #

    This is so cool! I know that feeling though, I wrote a play for a class last semester. It was my first time trying anything of that magnitude and while I dreaded the project it ended up being something that I could be proud of.

  7. Brittany April 17, 2012 at 14:24 #

    This is so cool!!! Ok I just notice the comment above mine started the same way, but seriously this is awesome!! Congratulations!

  8. Alexandra Del Sole April 21, 2012 at 23:28 #

    super cool!

Leave a Reply

