Recital Recap

27 Jan

I’ve been a little lazy about blogging.

My recital went really well.
I was so happy to see my friends and family supporting me.

20130128-133511.jpg

Let’s recap the recital

what I wore
I wore my blue and gold dress that my friend made for me years ago.

The dress has this golden pattern that is just gorgeous!

I heard the “You look so Icelandic in this dress” comment several times, ha!

20130128-134154.jpg

what I sang
I sang 8 songs from the songs of Jónas by Atli Heimir Sveinsson.
Úr Hulduljóðum
Heylóarvísa
Buxur, vesti, brók og skór
Illur lækur eða heimasætan
Dalvísa
Vorvísa
Einu, sinni
Ferðalok

I began the recital by introducing the recital itself and the songs I was going to sing. I told the audience short stories about each of the songs, in order for them to connect better with the music.

Also, so the audience wouldn’t be overwhelmed, I spoke only about four songs at a time.

what was the reaction
I feel like the Americans really did appreciate me introducing my own culture.
Ferðalok was without doubt the most memorable song.

what I will remember
My choir professor running backstage after the recital with tears in her eyes.
She is such a mentor to me.

20130128-133036.jpg

Leave a Reply

